On this page you will find a list of useful points of contact for the LSST Dark Energy Science Collaboration (DESC). 

Management Team

Inquiries of the DESC Spokesperson team (Spokesperson and Deputy Spokesperson) can be sent to: lsst-desc-spokesperson [at]

Spokesperson team emerita: Phil Marshall (SLAC, serving as “Past Spokesperson” until end of 2019), Eric Gawiser (Rutgers, deputy), Rachel Bean (Cornell), Jeff Newman (Pitt, deputy), Bhuvnesh Jain (U. Pennsylvania), Steve Kahn (SLAC), Gregory Dubois-Felsmann (IPAC, deputy) 

Advisory Board

Working Groups

The following diagram illustrates the overall working group structure, while the co-conveners for the working groups are listed below.

Diagram of overall DESC working group structure

Technical Working Groups

Coordinator: Pierre Antilogus (LPNHE/IN2P3)

Computing and Simulations Working Groups

Coordinator: Katrin Heitmann (ANL)

Data and Validation Working Groups

Coordinator: Michael Wood-Vasey (Pitt)

Analysis Working Groups

Coordinator: Anze Slosar (BNL)

Operations Committee

International Resources Committee


LSST Project and Facility

High-performance computing resources

Other projects

Collaboration Council (CC)

Council members are elected for 2-year terms, with ten new members elected each year. Their current year is given in parentheses after their institution. The CC elects its own chair, each year.


Membership Committee

Publication Board

Junior DESC Organization

Meetings Committee

Operations Staff

The DESC Pipeline Scientists (PS) and Computing Infrastructure personnel (CI) are committed to development of the collaboration’s mission-critical software and datasets.

DESC Builders

The following members have been granted DESC Builder Status, in accordance with the LSST DESC Builder Status Policy, which states that DESC Builder Status is a recognition given by the LSST DESC to those members who have made significant contributions to building the collaboration, both its community and its simulation and analysis pipeline and infrastructure software.